Windward Suites 29 Pelham Street is a charming boutique inn in the heart of Newport, where you can unwind in your private bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and enjoy access to common areas like the kitchen, dining area, office, deck and living room. With its unique setup and dog-friendly atmosphere, this property offers a perfect blend of comfort and convenience.
Reviews
9.49.4 out of 10
Exceptional
Popular amenities
Parking available
Kitchen
Pet friendly
Air conditioning
Free WiFi
Room options
About the neighborhood
Newport, RI
What's nearby
Thames Street - 1 min walk - 0.0 km
Bowen's Wharf - 1 min walk - 0.0 km
Newport Harbour - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
Newport Mansions - 17 min walk - 1.5 km
Cliff Walk - 18 min walk - 1.5 km
Getting around
Newport Ferry Station - 8 min walk
Newport, RI (NPT-Newport State) - 18 min drive
Restaurants
Starbucks - 3 min walk
Midtown Oyster Bar - 4 min walk
The Mooring Seafood Kitchen & Bar - 5 min walk
Surf Club - 4 min walk
Gas Lamp Grille - 3 min walk
About this property
Cheerful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog friendly in the heart of Newport
Vacation home near Thames Street
Located close to Newport Mansions, Cheerful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog friendly in the heart of Newport has plenty to offer. Guests can connect to free in-room WiFi.
Other perks include:
Smoke-free premises
Room features
All guestrooms at Cheerful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog friendly in the heart of Newport have comforts such as air conditioning, as well as amenities like free WiFi.
More amenities include:
Bathrooms with hair dryers
TVs with cable channels
Outdoor lighting, kitchens, and refrigerators
Similar properties
Beautiful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog Friendly/ Newly Renovated with Parking off Thames St.
Beautiful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog Friendly/ Newly Renovated with Parking off Thames St.
In-room WiFi speed: 250+ Mbps (good for 3–5 people or up to 10 devices)
Available in some public areas: Internet access
More
Smoking not allowed
Room amenities
Bedroom
Bedsheets provided
Bathroom
Hair dryer
Towels provided
Entertainment
TV with cable/satellite channels
Food and drink
Cookware, dishware, and utensils
Dishwasher
Kitchen
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
More
Air conditioning
Heating
Iron/ironing board
Policies
Check-in
Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM
Minimum check-in age: 21
Check-out
Check-out before 11:00 AM
Special check-in instructions
You will receive an email from the host with check-in and check-out instructions
Pets
Pets allowed
Service animals are welcome, and are exempt from fees
Children and extra beds
Children are welcome
Events
Events allowed
Smoking
Smoking is not permitted
Important information
You need to know
Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy
Government-issued photo identification and a credit card, debit card, or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidental charges
Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges; special requests cannot be guaranteed
Parties and events are allowed on site
Host has indicated there is a carbon monoxide detector on the property
Host has indicated there is a smoke detector on the property
Safety features at this property include a fire extinguisher, a first aid kit, and a deadbolt lock
This property is managed through our partner, Vrbo. You will receive an email from Vrbo with a link to a Vrbo account, where you can change or cancel your reservation
Property Registration Number 780
Property is also known as
614c0f6b-fc94-4ded-8c5f-ea15b4e4bf0a
Apartment
Frequently asked questions
Is Cheerful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog friendly in the heart of Newport pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property.
What time is check-in at Cheerful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog friendly in the heart of Newport?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Cheerful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog friendly in the heart of Newport?
Check-out is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Cheerful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog friendly in the heart of Newport located?
Located in Downtown Newport, this vacation home is steps from Bowen's Wharf and Thames Street. Queen Anne Square and Bannister's Wharf are just steps away. Newport Ferry Station is 8 minutes by foot.
Have a question?
AI iconBeta
Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.
Cheerful 1 Bed/ 1 Bath/ Dog friendly in the heart of Newport Reviews
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
All reviews shown are from real guest experiences. Only travelers who have booked a stay with us can submit a review. We verify reviews according to our guidelines and publish all reviews, positive or negative.
I was in town on business and this was a great place to stay. It was clean, the check in process was easy, and the location was amazing. Would definitely recommend!
The location and the room where perfect for a two night getaway The only complaint was that room a/c vent was located under the bed so the room didn't get any cold air flow and was warm so we had to keep the windows open
Couldn't have been much better!!! Great location, sooo comfortable. Rooms were easy to be comfortable. Common area and kitchen were above our expectations. Location close to docks, restaurants/adult beverage services couldn't be much better.
The property is clean and modern and in a prime location walking distance to everything. Make sure you know that you only get a small room with a bathroom, so the remaining living/seating/kitchen is all shared.
Gabriela M.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2023
6/10 Okay
Verified traveler
19 April 2022
Liked: Location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication
Mixed and disappointing experience
This was the second time I’ve stayed at the property. The place is clean and great location. Unfortunately, when I arrived with mother and daughter the entire outside of the building was being painted. The painters were very friendly but were there the entire two days of our two-nite trip. It was difficult to park with all the ladders etc. they covered my car in plastic which I appreciated but was a hassle when one of us had to retrieve something from the car or when we needed the car. …the three doors to the building were all open (40’ out) all day. We couldn’t use the common space living room to hang out together because the front doors were open (doors being painted) and it was too cold. We had to keep all the blackout shades drawn in our rooms because painters were everywhere. The housekeepers didn’t arrive until late (it was Easter so no big deal) but our rooms weren’t ready at 3pm. The day we checked out it was raining so we were able to sleep in a little longer (no painters at 7am outside our windows). I’m mostly disappointed that the property manager didn’t tell me that the entire outside of the building would be covered with painters and ladders etc during our two night visit. I would’ve changed my dates.
Verified traveler
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
2/10 Terrible
Jacobo M.
12 September 2022
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
Terrible
The property manager never responded to my request. The toilet sit cover was broken and the sot was loose. I contacted the property manager to request to fix this and never got a response. I reach out to Vrbo help center and they were not able to get a hold of the property manager as well. They tried several times.
The description of the property did not specified anything about broken or loose toilet sits. This is a fraud, this property should not be presented as premier host. The property manager should be up front and specified anything that is broken or missing (requested to have hangers in the closet to hang our cloths as well but there was not response.) so at least people who will stay there know what to expect.
In conclusion be aware what you could potentially expect form the property manager, once you make the payment you will not hear back or get a response from the property manager if you need anything from them. Vrbo costumer help will not be able to do anything because the payment goes to the property manager directly.
Overall was a terrible experience, will not recommend this place to stay in.
Jacobo M.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2022
10/10 Excellent
michaela
25 July 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, communication
Overall good stay. I missed the email with check in instructions because it was from a rental company so when we arrived we couldn’t get in. I couldn’t find a direct contact to property manager so I called vrbo who called the property manager. They connected him to us, and he resent us the information for checking. Once we had that everything was smooth.
Some bottled water would be great!
The location was second to none. Access to the property on check in was very simple. Modern decor and just what I was looking for. Be aware that dogs are allowed.
It was clean, modern and upgraded! I was pleasantly surprised at the comfort of the bed and room in general. Perfectly located and couldn’t have asked for more